Saturday, January 31, 2015

Cassini Essay Writing Competition 2015

Astronomy Club has achieved the following results in the 3rd Cassini Essay writing competition on 31 Jan 2015. 

CHIU CHEN NING S2-01 (2nd) 
KOPPARTHI SANDEEP S3-06 (Hon Mention) 
WILLIAM MING  S4-08 (Hon Mention)
Sandeep from S3-06 has won the Hon Mention in 2014 as well. 

During the award presentation ceremony on 31 Jan 2015, our students had the opportunity to listen to the speakers and ask questions on Astronomy and Space Science. Through this events, we hope that SST students would develop an interest in Science and Astronomy-related events. It is also an opportunity to learn about the various careers and applications of Astronomy Science and Technology in our daily lives. 


Kim Steadman is an engineer working at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory. In her over 16 years at JPL, she has worked on several different projects including X2000, MER, Cassini-­Huygens Mission to Saturn and the MSL. She is currently a Science Planning Engineer for the Mars Science Laboratory Curiosity Rover and a Tactical Uplink Lead for the Mars Exploration Rover Opportunity. She holds a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering from Georgia Tech.

Andrew P. Ingersoll, Professor of Planetary Science at the California Institute of Technology, is an expert on the weather and climate of Earth and the other planets. He has participated in many space missions including Pioneer Jupiter/Saturn, Pioneer Venus, Voyager, VEGA Venus Balloons, Mars Global Surveyor, Galileo to Jupiter, Cassini to Saturn, and Juno, currently on its way to Jupiter. Among his numerous discoveries, he was the first to suggest a runaway greenhouse for Venus' atmosphere. Dr. Ingersoll served on the Space Science Board and the Space Science and Applications Advisory Committee and was Chairman of the Division for Planetary Sciences of the American Astronomical Society. He served on the Solar System Exploration Decadal Survey Committee and for the past 10 years he was the atmospheric­ sciences editor of the journal Icarus. He received NASA's Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal and was awarded the Gerard P. Kuiper Prize of the Division for Planetary Sciences of the American Astronomical Society.

No comments:

Post a Comment